Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Virtual Learning Teaching Resources and Tips: Free Online Teaching Tools

Reminder...

This guide contains resources to supplement our current digital library collection

To access the regular library portal resources visit RaiderNet or click on:

http://hunschool.libguides.com/hunlibrary
All databases require 1-time login with the following:
Username: hun    Password:  school

Vaccine Tracker--This one's in the Good News category

Tired of tracking cases of Covid-19? Check out a tracker with Good News for a change!  BioRender Tracker --tracks vaccines, therapeutics and human trials. Here's hope.

Teaching History--Lesson Plans and activities from the National Archives-

Comparing the Constitutional Process of Taking Office in Political Cartoons

Comparing the Constitutional Process of Taking Office in Political Cartoons
By Center for Legislative Archives, National Archives
Focusing on Details: Compare and Contrast

Learning Resources from the National Archives--with lesson plans and interactive student activities for U.S. History.

At-Home Learning Activities for High School--"If you’re teaching American history or government to high school students, check out these online activities and lesson plans from around the National Archives and Presidential Libraries. History activities map to WWII and later in the American history curriculum. We also have resources for prepping for the AP US History exam this year!"

A Few Examples--

THE LEGISLATIVE PROCESS: CONGRESS AT WORK

THE WAR IN VIETNAM – A STORY IN PHOTOGRAPHS

THE IMPACT OF BLOODY SUNDAY IN SELMA

MORE ACTIVITIES ON DOCSTEACH…

Find more online teaching activities on DocsTeach, an interactive website where students can investigate historical documents and photographs to make sense of the past.

Access high school civics activities here.

Access high school history activities for post WWII here.

Virtual Travel--Travel Plans Cancelled? Check this Out!

Can't make the journey? Don't miss out on the experience--See Broadway shows, iconic world landmarks, and more--

Travel the World From Home from AAA.  "Virtual sightseeing adventures online... AAA has curated some of the best interactive travel explorations. Bon (virtual) voyage!"

Stream classic Broadway Musicals including CATS, Sound of Music, and The King & I.

Experience Cirque du Soleil, Zoo and Aquarium Encounters, and watch the 8 part series Discover Puerto Rico hosted by Lin Manuel Miranda.

Experience U.S. National Parks, Disney World, Universal Studios, African Safaris, Caribbean Cruises, and World Landmarks including the Sistine Chapel, Stonehenge, the Great Wall of China, the Taj Mahal and Great Pyramids of Giza.

Free Web Applications to Enhance Virtual Teaching

3D Bear:  Augmented Reality teaching app & lesson plans (free!)
 
Use your iPhone, iPad, or iPod Touch to Scan Documents using the Notes App!: Step-by-step instructions, along with other tips on how to maximize the Notes app.

Edji.it This is a group reading and annotation tool for remote learning and virtual classes. Very cool!! It’s a collaborative reading platform allowing students and teachers to read independently or together through audio, text, emoji and other comments. It works on any internet connected device (tablets, Macs, Chromebooks, and even hand-me-down smartphones) and students do not need an email address or account. Offers a "2-reading" free trial. 

Tools for Teaching

Ditch that Textbook:  100 Remote Activities, Templates and Tutorial/  Lots of activities, ideas and inspiration for your lessons--some subjects include digital writing activites, video project ideas, ways to use maps digitally, and more.

Timeline.knightlab.com    From Northwestern University--free online timeline creator--awesome (free) timeline tool that is pretty user-friendly. If you have any plans to ask your students to make timelines as part of an assignment or project, check it out!

 

Smithsonian Distance Learning Resources

Smithsonian Distance Learning Resources  

"Teachers have access to millions of digital resources from across the Smithsonian's museums, research centers, libraries, archives, and more. You will also find pre-packaged collections that contain lessons, activities, and recommended resources made by Smithsonian museum educators as well as thousands of classroom teachers."

National Resources

Smithsonian Resources for National Audiences

DCPS Logo

Smithsonian educators identified online learning resources for teachers across the country. Note: We will continue to update this space as we develop and align additional online resources from across the Smithsonian.

Resources for: English/Language Arts PK-12 | Social Studies/History PK-12 | Science PK-12

Looking for a specific Smithsonian museum's education resources? A full listing is available here.

Looking for your local museum education resources? The Smithsonian Affiliations’ network has a list from museums nationwide.

(updated 3/25/2020)

Languages

Mango Languages Classroom Free access as requested by teachers. Contact Laura Bishop for set up.

Discover Puerto Rico! --an 8 part series hosted by Lin Manuel Miranda. Experience the sights and sounds of Puerto Rico. Watch them all, but especially Episode 3, which tours Old San Juan, with its rich and beautiful history, architecture, and culture. Produced by the Puerto Rico Tourism Company.

American Reading Company--ARC Bookshelf is a mobile application available on iOS, Android and viewable on the web, providing American Reading at Home titles specially designed for successful reading practice for early readers. Make an account to get 12 free ebooks--6 in English, 6 in Spanish.

AprenderGratis--Courses and resources: More than 2000 free resources and courses for teachers in Spanish overall. Math, Reading, Science, Foreign Language, Special Education, Intervention Resources

Thanks to Melissa Dorfman for the following links!--

https://radiolingua.com/learnathome/

Free language resources for learning at home. Mini-lessons that will teach you basic phrases, in many languages, with transcripts. Languages from A to Z: Arabic, Czech, French, Gaelic, German, Greek, Irish, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Slovak, Spanish, Swedish, Turkish, Ukranian, Zulu, plus many more!

https://www.frenchteacher.net/free-resources/samples/

French Home Study packs.  Free Resources, powerpoint presentations, samples, whiteboard notes and word docs. Also a page of links for teaching Spanish.

Virtual Professional Development

eLearning Industry: Resource for articles about online learning, techniques, etc.
 

Webinars from Hun Library

   Webinar #4   Find out about the awesomeness that is LibGuides, and why you might like one for your students by watching