Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Virtual Learning Teaching Resources and Tips: Online Resources--Were Free during COVID Closures

Reminder...

 

 

This guide contains resources to supplement our current digital library collection

To access the regular library portal resources visit RaiderNet or click on:

http://hunschool.libguides.com/hunlibrary
All databases require 1-time login with the following:
Username: hun    Password:  school

STEAM

American Chemical Society--The American Chemical Society has ChemMatters magazines, targeted for high schoolers, available online. In addition to chemistry, there are articles that are biographies of chemists, and historical articles. There are also articles in Spanish, go to the PAST ISSUES link, each volume also offers a full article, illustrations and graphics included, in Spanish.
Cool Math: Math lessons and games for all ages.

 

Inner Orbit: Assessment and activity builder for all branches of science. Excellent resource! Free until Aug.2020

 

Gale’s Science in Context 

 

Global Math Stories: Free narratives that build math into fascinating places around the world. This is a resource for teachers and parents to create fun, engaging math activities. Math questions and activities may be found at the right (by the + sign). Also, some topics include a Social Justice quesion as well.

 

Kesler Science: 3 Free Weeks of Lessons including Physical, Earth, and Life Sciences

 

 

Noteflight: Noteflight is an online app that allows users to compose, view, and share music notation from any web browser. Free through June 30th, 2020.

Interdisciplinary & Global Ed.

Active History Interactive simulations, quizzes, games that can easily be used for online learning.  Offering 1 month free trial because of school closures upon request (contact form)

Go to "Subscribe" Button:  Website says--  "New visitor? Subscribe now!

ActiveHistory subscribers get full access to HUNDREDS of downloadable worksheets, lesson plans, teacher notes, interactive simulations and self-marking quizzes!"

EBSCO  E-books: High School, Academic, Psychology Collections, and the Poetry & Shorty Story Resource Center
  • Go to: http://trial.ebscohost.com
  • User ID: cjrlc200trial
  • Password: Trial!20
  • SELECT "EBSCO DATABASES" to get to the eBook collections (not Explora)

Gale in context for High Schools:

https://go.gale.com/ps/start.do?p=SUIC&u=c19micro

Password, if prompted: open

 

 

Newsbank: Access to thousands of full-text articles from newspapers, magazines--plus teaching resources connected to both! 
Access Links:
  • Access Link for World News Research Collection - 2020 Edition & America’s Historical Newspapers:
https://infoweb.newsbank.com/apps/news/easy-search?p=WORLDNEWS
  • Americas Historical Newspapers - Timeline:
https://infoweb.newsbank.com/apps/news/americas-historical-newspapers?p=EANX-K12&pnews=WORLDNEWS
Username & Password: 7230
Stanford History Education Group: Create an account and receive full text and downloading access to lessons and assessments!

Feel Good!

Audible (an Amazon company)--This was provided free during COVID school closures.  Now you can try it out with 1 month free,$14.95/mo after 30 days, cancel at any time.   Instantly stream an incredible collection of stories, including titles across six different languages, that will help kids continue dreaming, learning, and just being kids.   All stories  stream on your desktop, laptop, phone or tablet.

GiveThx: GiveThx is a digital tool and curriculum that builds school culture and belonging using gratitude. Students and staff use digital thank you notes to recognize and reinforce positive behaviors and relationships. Students develop self-esteem from seeing the impact of their actions by reflecting on their thank you collection data. GiveThx is a powerful social-emotional learning (SEL) system that schools can use on a daily basis, leveraging technology to create safe and inclusive communities.

More Fun and Relaxing Links

"From the Brooklyn Botanic Gardens to the Cheekwood Estate in Music City, botanical gardens around the country are bringing their blooms to you with interactive virtual tours, home garden inspiration, and activities for the whole family."--from Library Journal / School Library Journal

Explore.org--watch live animal & nature cams from around the globe (Thank you, Josh Robinson for this link). Let the beauty of nature soothe your spirit  by with manatees, fish, sea lions, and more, live on camera. 

Top 10 Museums You Can Explore Right Here--Google street views art museum tours 

2500 Museums You Can Now Visit Virtually  The title is a bit misleading as the site offers links to 12 selected museums, not the entire 2500.  But the ones you can access here provide a great virtual tour of some very beautiful museums and their collectioins.   --(Thank you for the tip, Alan Arp!)

Did you ever wonder...what's a blue moon? Can it really rain cats and dogs? Can you fry an egg on a hot sidewalk? Find out the answer to these and other baffling and intriguing Everyday Mysteries --Fun Science Facts! from Library of Congress.

Resources: ABC-CLIO and Follett Lightbox Ebooks

ABC-CLIO will be supporting your efforts by providing an open access student site for all middle and high school students also until June 30th

SHARE STUDENT RESOURCES NOW!