LibGuides: 1984 Research Guide: Research Resources

MEET WITH MR. REESE

Off-Campus Credentials

All library resources are Google-authenticated. You can access them using your Hun credentials.

E-Books

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of ebooks on a variety of topics

REFERENCE SOURCES

Reference sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, atlases) give concise introductions to topics.

Use them to:

Explore topics for research
Get background information
Explain unfamiliar ideas
Collect relevant keywords

Raider Research Portal

This single-search platform will search all of our databases at once. Additionally, it's linked to your Hun Google account, so you can save any articles you find or searches you perform.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The go-to source for upper level Scholarly journals, primary sources, and now ebooks. Great for hard to find Science articles and journals!! (Grades 9-12).
Literature (Gale-in-Context) This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Literature provides context for literary classics and diverse new texts by using a robust multimedia collection of videos, images, infographics, eBooks, and more.
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Bloom’s Literature is rich with relevant content on the core authors and works most studied in the high school curriculum. Students will find exactly what they need without having to wade through an uncurated search. Educators will appreciate the thoughtful organization and important curriculum tools to help with lesson plans, assignments, and independent study.
Great for Shakespeare research!
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Combining information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals and original content from EBSCO, Literary Reference Center features an expansive collection of classic and contemporary full-text poems, short stories, and novels.

Gale - Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Global Issues supports global awareness and provides a global perspective while tying together a wealth of authoritative content, empowering learners to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world. Explore issues within government, law, health, science and technology, society and culture, and more. Integrates news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more.
Gale - U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: U.S. History is an engaging experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history. This comprehensive, contextual, media-rich collection empowers learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills. Topics range from the arrival of Vikings in North America to the first stirrings of the American Revolution and on through the Civil Rights movement, September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks, and the War on Terror.
Gale - World History This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: World History reaches back to the ancient world—and forward to today's headlines—to deliver a chronicle of the people, cultures, events, and societies that have formed the history of the human race. A range of topics such as Aztecs, the Industrial Revolution, the Silk Road, the Buddha, the Space Race, and more provide a wide perspective across the globe. Rare primary sources, reliable references, and multimedia content put this vast subject into context for students.
Gale - Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.