Research Resources - English 1: Contextualizing History: Research Paper - Dr. B

Assignment Details

Assignment Directions

E-Books

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of ebooks on a variety of topics

Off-Campus Credentials

All library resources are Google-authenticated. You can access them using your Hun credentials.

Searching Tips

Choose a topic
Read about it (reference sources are great here)
Choose search terms
1. Keep them short
2. Be specific
3. Avoid slang terms
Keep a list of search terms
Use quotes to search phrases (e.g. "carbon emissions" or "Boston tea party')
Combine terms using AND to help limit results (e.g. "Grandma Gatewood" AND "Appalachian Trail" AND "thru-hiking"

Steps in this Research Process

Do exploratory research on a topic of interest. Reference sources are excellent for this.
Narrow down the topic (e.g. what aspect of the Civil War are you focusing on)
Find and EVALUATE your sources (scholarly and trusted sources). The Raider Research Portal is best for this. If in doubt, try the SIFT Method to determine the source's worth and relevance.
If unsure about a resource, check with Mr. Reese--he's happy to help.

Raider Research Portal

This single-search platform will search all of our databases at once. Additionally, it's linked to your Hun Google account, so you can save any articles you find or searches you perform.

Individual Research Databases

Reference sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, atlases) give concise introductions to topics.

Use them to:

Explore topics for research and collect relevant keywords for searching databases
Get background information
Explain unfamiliar ideas
Typically, reference sources are not used for quotations and do not count as scholarly sources.

Gale - Biography This link opens in a new window
Users can browse to find people based on occupation, role, or historical period, or search based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as by keyword and full text. Biography is built on a foundation of more than 600,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The go-to source for upper level Scholarly journals, primary sources, and now ebooks. Great for hard to find Science articles and journals!! (Grades 9-12).
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Bloom’s Literature is rich with relevant content on the core authors and works most studied in the high school curriculum. Students will find exactly what they need without having to wade through an uncurated search. Educators will appreciate the thoughtful organization and important curriculum tools to help with lesson plans, assignments, and independent study.
Great for Shakespeare research!
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Combining information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals and original content from EBSCO, Literary Reference Center features an expansive collection of classic and contemporary full-text poems, short stories, and novels.

African American History Online This link opens in a new window
Covering more than 500 years of the African-American experience, African-American History offers a fresh way to explore the full spectrum of African-American history and culture. Users can start their investigation of a topic with a video or slideshow overview, use the key content called out on the home page to find an entryway into the database, or dig deep into a subject or era through the Topic Centers. Read about key figures and events, examine famous speeches and other primary sources, and get context from the in-depth timelines. An important feature is the full cross-searchability across all the Infobase history databases for an even more comprehensive view of history.
History Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covering topics in U.S. and world history from the earliest civilizations through the 21st century, History Reference Center is a research database containing full-text journals, magazines, reference books and thousands of primary source documents.
NewsBank Historical Timeline This link opens in a new window
Research America’s History Through the News. Organized chronologically by era or event.
Gale - U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: U.S. History is an engaging experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history. This comprehensive, contextual, media-rich collection empowers learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills. Topics range from the arrival of Vikings in North America to the first stirrings of the American Revolution and on through the Civil Rights movement, September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks, and the War on Terror.
National Geographic This link opens in a new window
National Geographic Magazine is the flagship magazine of the National Geographic Society. Each issue takes an adventurous look into cultural exploration as well as social and environmental changes that impact life on Earth. Stories about the people and places of the world are humanized by the emphasis on the symbiotic bond between Earth and its inhabitants.
Gale In-Context: High School This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: High School offers cross-curricular content that supports national and state curriculum standards and reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation. Explore topics within business and economics, geography, government, history, literature, science and health, social issues, and more. Integrating reference content, biographies, primary sources, multimedia, critical essays, news, academic journals and more, High School is updated daily, offering nearly 1,000 issue, topic, and geographic pages across the curriculum. Content comes together to provide background and guidance on topics like Government and the Economy, Human Population, Sound and Sound Waves, American Literature, and more.

Gale - Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
New York Times Link 1 This link opens in a new window
Create a pass using your Hun email address.
Live news, investigations, opinion, photos and video by the journalists of The New York Times from more than 150 countries around the world.
Gale In-Context: High School This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: High School offers cross-curricular content that supports national and state curriculum standards and reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation. Explore topics within business and economics, geography, government, history, literature, science and health, social issues, and more. Integrating reference content, biographies, primary sources, multimedia, critical essays, news, academic journals and more, High School is updated daily, offering nearly 1,000 issue, topic, and geographic pages across the curriculum. Content comes together to provide background and guidance on topics like Government and the Economy, Human Population, Sound and Sound Waves, American Literature, and more.

English 1: Contextualizing History: Research Paper - Dr. B: Research Resources

The Hun School Library