LibGuides: Romeo and Juliet : Resources

Reference Resources - What are they?

Reference sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, atlases) give concise introductions to topics.

Use them to:

Explore topics for research
Get background information
Explain unfamiliar ideas
Collect relevant keywords

Email Mr. Reese with any questions

Will Reese

He/Him/His

Email Me

Databases for Research - Best Bets

Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window Bloom’s Literature is rich with relevant content on the core authors and works most studied in the high school curriculum. Students will find exactly what they need without having to wade through an uncurated search. Educators will appreciate the thoughtful organization and important curriculum tools to help with lesson plans, assignments, and independent study. Great for Shakespeare research!
Gale - Biography This link opens in a new window Gale In Context: Biography is an engaging experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. Organized into a user-friendly portal experience, it merges Gale's authoritative reference content, including Lives & Perspectives, with periodicals and multimedia. Users can browse to find people based on occupation, role, or historical period, or search based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as by keyword and full text. Biography is built on a foundation of more than 600,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Providing coverage of the most searched and studied people, Biography includes over 5,000 portal pages on contemporary and historical figures. Reference content is offered alongside videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers. This resource is continuously updated to ensure users have access to the latest information.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window The go-to source for upper level Scholarly journals, primary sources, and now ebooks. Great for hard to find Science articles and journals!! (Grades 9-12).
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window Combining information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals and original content from EBSCO, Literary Reference Center features an expansive collection of classic and contemporary full-text poems, short stories, and novels.
Literature (Gale-in-Context) This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Literature provides context for literary classics and diverse new texts by using a robust multimedia collection of videos, images, infographics, eBooks, and more.
Understanding Series: Shakespeare by JSTOR This link opens in a new window Resources are linked to corresponding lines of dialogue. This is an excellent resource if you are analyzing specific lines of dialogue in the play.

SEARCH FOR BOOKS AND VIDEOS IN YOUR LIBRARY'S COLLECTION

Find:

Advanced Search

Print books for this project Available in our Library)

Below are a few of the many books in the library that you can use for this assignment

Shakespeare for Students: Critical Interpretations of As You Like It...and Romeo & Juliet Vol.1 by Mark W. Scott, ed.
Call Number: 822.3 STU Vol.1
ISBN: 9780787601577 (0810382474)
Publication Date: 1992
Twentieth Century Interpretations of 'Romeo and Juliet' by Douglas Cole
Call Number: 822.3 TWE
ISBN: 9780137829125
Publication Date: 1970-01-01
Understanding Romeo and Juliet by Thomas E. Thrasher
Call Number: 822.3 THR
ISBN: 9781560067870
Publication Date: 2001-09-01
Understanding Romeo and Juliet; A Student Casebook by Alan Hager
Call Number: 822.3 SHA
ISBN: 9780313296161
Publication Date: 1999-10-30
William Shakespeare: His World, His Work, His Influence by John F. Andrews (Editor)
Call Number: REF 822.3 SHA Vols. 1-3
ISBN: 9780684178516
Publication Date: 1985-06-01

Raider Research Portal

This single-search platform will search all of our databases at once. Additionally, it's linked to your Hun Google account, so you can save any articles you find or searches you perform.