LibGuides: The National Parks Project: 7th Grade, Ms. Nuse: ONLINE RESOURCES

NATIONAL PARKS - Collections and Magazine

ARCHES NATIONAL PARK, UTAH

The Power of Parks
A collection of information about, and images of, the National Parks, highlighting conservation efforts and historical background.
National Parks from National Geographic Kids
There are many photo galleries Mrs. Nuse and I wanted you to have access to for this project. Plus a few fun and interesting park facts and videos too!

National Park Trips This link opens in a new window
Our detailed trip-planning websites, National Park Journal magazine, park-specific trip planners, social media channels, and newsletters are packed with insider tips on what to do in and around the parks, including the best places to eat, sleep and explore. We also have developed epic road trips with daily itineraries that highlight fascinating natural and cultural attractions and fun outdoor activities along the way.

GALE (IN CONTEXT) DATABASES

Gale - U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: U.S. History is an engaging experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history. This comprehensive, contextual, media-rich collection empowers learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills. Topics range from the arrival of Vikings in North America to the first stirrings of the American Revolution and on through the Civil Rights movement, September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks, and the War on Terror.
Gale In-Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Middle School supports the developing information and digital literacy skills of middle school students. Young researchers are inspired by how quickly they can navigate and find the answers they need—anytime and anywhere.

NATIONAL PARK SERVICE & FOUNDATION

National Park Service

National Park Foundation

PLANT CLASSIFICATION SITE

Plant Classification Site
USDA - Natural Resources Conservation Service
Below General Search Box - Pay close attention to Dropdown option 'Common Name', 'Scientific Name',etc. Filter. Next choose 'Classification' to find out Genus & Species for the particular plant.

Free to Use Photo Site

LIBRARY OF CONGRESS: NATIONAL PARKS COLLECTION

"Mapping the National Parks" is a web project of the Library of Congress. This collection includes essays and approximately 200 maps from the 17th century to the present. The collection focuses on three of the National Parks: Acadia, Grand Canyon and Great Smoky Mountains. The primary focus of this collection is on the history, culture and geological forms of numerous areas found in the above mentioned parks. Click the link below to explore!

Library of Congress National Parks

The National Parks Project: 7th Grade, Ms. Nuse: ONLINE RESOURCES